Skip to content

Mailbox Monday

September 5, 2010

Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia of The Printed Page and is now on tour.  I’m thrilled to be the host of this fun meme for the month of September!  The voting was close, but Sunday came out on top, so my Mailbox Monday posts will go up on Sundays this month.  I can’t believe it’s Labor Day already – where did the summer go?

According to Marcia,  “Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.”

My mailbox exploded last week!  I’m a little embarrassed to post today, but feel like I must in order to be a good host!   Here’s what I found in my mailbox:

Friday (August 27) – I was out of town, so this one came too late to include in last week’s post

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Friday

What books came into your home last week?

If you’re participating in Mailbox Monday, click on Mister Linky to add the link to your post.

82 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 5:13 am

    I see a lot of wonderful books. Have a whale of a time reading.

    http://readbookswritepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/09/mondays-mailboxwhereaboutsmusings.html

  2. September 5, 2010 6:55 am

    You have a beautiful pile there and you shouldnt be embarassed at all. You get the books because you deserve them.

  3. September 5, 2010 7:08 am

    Wow, what an explosion you had! Look at the books you received! I am so green with envy. LOL Happy reading, Kathy!

  4. September 5, 2010 7:19 am

    I can’t believe Wednesday. You must have had such fun!

  5. September 5, 2010 7:25 am

    LOL! You should be embarrassed. What’s so amazing is that you got some incredible books — quality and quantity.

  6. September 5, 2010 7:29 am

    Ours will post later today, but I wanted to come do some visiting.

    You just gave me “buyer’s remorse” over the Widower’s Tale. I really enjoyed Julia Glass’s Three Junes, and I lingered on the Widower’s Tale on Thursday. There were 6 left, and I didn’t select it, and when I saw it just now on your list, I knew I wanted it, but it’s gone. . . .

  7. September 5, 2010 7:36 am

    A few of these are on my wish list. I’m really looking forward to hearing about the Julia Glass book. I’ve read a couple of hers and enjoyed them. I hope they’re all good reads!

  8. September 5, 2010 7:42 am

    This time your mailbox is unbelievable and incredible. Enjoy every moment. My mailbox is in the sidebar.

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com

  9. September 5, 2010 7:50 am

    Wonderful Mailbox.

    Enjoy each and every one of the books.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/

  10. September 5, 2010 7:52 am

    You will love THE GOOD DAUGHTERS.

  11. September 5, 2010 7:54 am

    WOW is right. Hachette and you are on a first name basis it appears —LOL

    Looking forward to Anita Shreve’s new one (hope I get a copy).

  12. September 5, 2010 7:59 am

    Hoooooooooooo…. you had a great week! I’ve heard amazing things about The Good Daughters and hope you’ll shed light on if it’s truly great.

    Have a great reading week and congrats on hosting this month 🙂

    Here’s the Aisle B link for Mailbox

    http://aisleb.tumblr.com/post/1069233857/mailbox-monday-in-my-mailbox

    PS Found Vanderbes first book Easter Island, I am so excited!

  13. September 5, 2010 8:08 am

    Holy moly girl. You’d better get busy!

  14. September 5, 2010 8:17 am

    WOW! your mailman must have great biceps.
    You are going to be very busy.

  15. September 5, 2010 8:42 am

    WOW — that is quite a haul!

    You do such a fine job of reading and posting reviews, so you deserve all this book love. I, on the other hand, have great plans to read and review, but somehow never follow through.

    Enjoy this holiday weekend 🙂

  16. September 5, 2010 9:17 am

    Wow, your mailbox must be tired from all the heavy lifting. Quite an impressive haul! My mailbox had it easy this week, just one book for me this week, which is actually more than last week. Almost makes it look like I’m behaving myself bookwise, doesn’t it? Don’t be fooled….I’m sure my time’s coming. 😉

  17. stacybuckeye permalink
    September 5, 2010 9:52 am

    Hachette books was very kind to you this week 🙂

  18. September 5, 2010 9:55 am

    I finally had a manageable mailbox this week. Love the package of books you got from Hatchette. They all sound really good.

    Enjoy your reading week!

  19. September 5, 2010 10:18 am

    Whoa! Now that’s an explosion for sure. You got some terrific reads, Kathy. Enjoy!

  20. September 5, 2010 10:40 am

    I think you take the cake this week!

  21. September 5, 2010 11:13 am

    Holy cow that’s quite a stash! I’m currently reading Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters, stay tuned for my thoughts, haha.

  22. September 5, 2010 11:23 am

    Thank you for hosting MM this month.

  23. September 5, 2010 11:45 am

    Lot of great books here. Look forward to hearing how you like them. Happy reading and have a wonderful Sunday.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  24. September 5, 2010 12:41 pm

    wow! what a crazy mailbox! i would feel so overwhelm if i got that many books. good luck reading them all and i hope you enjoy them too!

    thanks for hosting mm! and i hope you’re having a great labor day weekend. 🙂

  25. September 5, 2010 12:42 pm

    I’m quite jealous of that amazing haul! Here is my own modest week in books: http://historicalfictionnotebook.blogspot.com/2010/09/mailbox-monday.html

  26. September 5, 2010 12:49 pm

    Wow – what a great week you had. If they all came by mail, what did the postman say?

    I’m glad to see that Michael Connelly has a new book out. I can’t wait to hear about it and then read it.

  27. September 5, 2010 1:12 pm

    Those sound good. Have fun reading them. I only got two books this week, which is ok as it gives me time to finish others that I’ve received.

  28. September 5, 2010 2:01 pm

    Great haul! The Widower’s Tale sounds interesting. Enjoy!

  29. September 5, 2010 2:35 pm

    Oooh I am a big fan of Joyce Maynard! Enjoy your books–you will be doing a LOT of reading.

  30. September 5, 2010 3:45 pm

    Wow…I am in awe…I have that many but I Kindled them…hee hee hee…just teasing…I didn’t Kindle that many…

    You are blessed and obviously much in demand…have fun reading…and I think you read faster than I do…

  31. September 5, 2010 4:36 pm

    Wow, lots and lots of interesting books. Very happy to have you hosting, I love your website!

    Have a great week.

  32. September 5, 2010 4:43 pm

    Those all sound like great books, Kathy! I hope you enjoy them!

  33. September 5, 2010 7:12 pm

    I had a week like that last week! I love getting that many books, but it’s probably a good thing it doesn’t happen at our house every week. 🙂

  34. September 5, 2010 8:04 pm

    Those kinds of weeks are fun!

  35. September 5, 2010 8:56 pm

    Wow, you weren’t kidding about the explosion in your mailbox!

    I thought I had a big one…it is big for me!

    MONDAY MEMES: MAILBOX AND WHAT ARE YOU READING? — SEPT. 6

  36. September 5, 2010 9:01 pm

    The Murder Room and Rescue look good. I just realised you were hosting, of course you are a great host and blogging friend.

  37. September 5, 2010 10:32 pm

    I really want to see what Christmas Mourning is. It sounds like it would be a good mystery. I’m going to go check it out now. Great mailbox.

  38. September 5, 2010 10:35 pm

    Wow, that’s quite a haul, Kathy! Enjoy your books and happy reading!

  39. September 5, 2010 11:13 pm

    That is an amazing quantity of books and I’m nothing but jealous – mainly at not having the time to devour a list like that.

  40. September 5, 2010 11:30 pm

    Wow, I’m jealous of a lot of these.

    I’d love Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters. It sounds great and humorous!

    Hadn’t heard of Why? Because We Still Like You or Exley but OOOOH I WANT THEM NOW!!

  41. September 6, 2010 12:03 am

    That feather has got me curious! I’m just starting with Finny, so I’m eager to know what it’s about.

    You got some great books this week. Have fun with them!

  42. September 6, 2010 2:08 am

    Wow, that was a full mailbox! It must be a magical mailbox to be able to fit all of those books!

    I received the one book that I absolutely had to have this fall, “Ape House”.

  43. September 6, 2010 2:16 am

    Wow! That is a lot of books. My haul was definitely that good, but a did get a few new ones in. 🙂

    Here is to your month of Hosting! Cheers.

  44. September 6, 2010 3:41 am

    Wow! That’s some week!

    Several of them look good to me, but I love the title on The Love Goddess’ Cooking School!

    Have a great reading week, and thank you for hosting.

  45. September 6, 2010 5:47 am

    Wow! That is some book explosion. I’m envious. Hope you enjoy them all.

    Here’s my Monday: http://mywordlyobsessions.wordpress.com

  46. September 6, 2010 8:19 am

    I’m drooling over the Anita Shreve and Joyce Maynard books! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on them 🙂

  47. September 6, 2010 8:24 am

    I received 13 rue last week. Looks like you got a great bunch of books to read over the holiday! Have fun reading. Thanks for hosting. I only got two books this week.

  48. September 6, 2010 8:28 am

    What a bountiful mailbox!
    Enjoy your week reading 🙂

  49. September 6, 2010 8:56 am

    Awesome selection there, Kathy! So many that I would like to read for myself, but I will be content just reading your thoughts on them for now!! Enjoy all of them!

  50. September 6, 2010 9:15 am

    Huge Mailbox there! I hope you enjoy one or two of them at least 😉
    My mailbox is here. Happy Labor Day to USA!

  51. September 6, 2010 9:43 am

    I’m waiting on Rescue. Enjoy your new books, and thanks for hosting!

  52. September 6, 2010 9:54 am

    I can’t wait to read the new Shreve book!

    We are reading If You Lived Here, You’d Be Home by Now for the MMBC. I hope it’s good too.

    So many books this week! Have a great week.

  53. September 6, 2010 10:19 am

    you made a big haul too this week.

    thanks for the link up

    http://myheartbelongs2books.blogspot.com/2010/09/mailbox-monday-sept-6-2010.html

  54. September 6, 2010 10:52 am

    Wow that is a lot of books!!! I’m hoping to get a copy of The Good Daughters also as I just LOVED Labor Day. My mailbox post is here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2010/09/mailbox-monday-september-6.html

  55. September 6, 2010 11:02 am

    Kathy: Thank you for hosting this month. Your mail carrier had quite a busy week. I look forward to your reviews on some of those books because they are in my tbr pile too. Looks like you will be very, very busy reading.
    CMash

  56. September 6, 2010 11:02 am

    Wow! What a mailbox! Now the feather has me all curious about the book Finny.

  57. September 6, 2010 12:27 pm

    Wow-you received a lot of books last week-I am excited to say that I did not even receive a drop of what you have-I am really trying to clean out my shelves-especially since we have a re-decorating project coming up-it will make it easier to have some space to place everything.

  58. September 6, 2010 12:28 pm

    All said I am intrigued by The Good Daughters and The Love Godesses Kitchen

  59. September 6, 2010 12:43 pm

    Your mailbox did “explode” last week, Kathy! Enjoy all of your books–no guilt allowed! Thanks for hosting this meme.

  60. September 6, 2010 1:00 pm

    Looks like you got some great ones this week!

  61. September 6, 2010 1:25 pm

    You did have an exploding mailbox this week! Have fun with all your new books.

    And thanks for hosting. It is always a pleasure to visit your busy blog.

  62. September 6, 2010 1:33 pm

    Wow that is one great mailbox. So many great looking titles to check out! I hope they are all enjoyable reads! I’m curious about the feather.

  63. September 6, 2010 3:59 pm

    Quite a list you have this week. Mine was small but considering the TBR piles around here fewer is better for now. Of course there are still so many books on my wishlist that were the opportunity to fall in my lap I could easily add several more books to my stacks.

  64. September 6, 2010 4:51 pm

    That is a very nice haul! Just stopping by to check out everyone’s loot.

    It’s been a slow week for me… nothing, *sniffle. But that’s probably a good thing so I can get caught up a bit.

  65. September 6, 2010 6:23 pm

    Your mailbox is never a dull place 😀
    I came back online too late today to post my Mailbox but I’ll be sure to participate next week!

  66. September 6, 2010 6:38 pm

    Wow that’s a big haul! Have a blast reading all those great books!

  67. September 6, 2010 9:36 pm

    Oh my, you are going to be busy reading.

    I received Practical Glamour by Constance Dunn and The Possibility of Everything by Hope Edelman.

    I am currently reading Eating Animals (for a review and giveaway), and I have of course read a lot of children’s book this week too.

    I would like to invite you to Book Lover’s Blog Hop@Story Time Under the Stars. At the Book Lovers’ Blog Hop you can link up a book review and connect with other book reviewers.

  68. September 6, 2010 10:18 pm

    So many good books on your pile, Kathy! I look forward to your reviews!

  69. September 6, 2010 10:22 pm

    As always, great selection of books Kathy! 🙂

    My mailbox monday is finally posted here: http://tbfreviews.net/2010/09/06/mailbox-monday-09-06-10/

  70. September 6, 2010 11:13 pm

    Quite a list of books coming into your mailbox. I wish mine were that full!

    Here’s my meager list of book finds this week.

    http://lagbookreviews.blogspot.com/2010/09/mailbox-monday-and-updates.html

  71. September 7, 2010 12:19 am

    I swear you always get the best stuff in your mailbox every week!

  72. September 7, 2010 3:24 am

    Got mine posted late, as usual! Better late than never, I guess. You received some really great ones this week…congratulations. =O)

  73. September 7, 2010 9:07 am

    So many great books (and candy too — yum!), but I think I would like to read the new Maynard book most of all.

    Happy reading!

  74. September 7, 2010 9:17 am

    Oooh, you have The Widower’s Tale? I can’t wait for this one.

    I just finished The Good Daughters, and I really enjoyed it. I need to go back and read Labor Day by her now. Looking forward to your thoughts!

  75. September 7, 2010 12:48 pm

    I’m always in awe of your stacks of books. Enjoy!

  76. September 7, 2010 2:38 pm

    Great line up of books! I see Anita Shreve has a new one out! I’ve been dying to read something else by her ever since I read “Testimony”.

  77. Tara permalink
    September 7, 2010 2:41 pm

    You got some GREAT books this week 🙂 “The Murder Room” looks really good 🙂 Enjoy your new books!

  78. September 8, 2010 10:55 am

    Sorry to be so late to the party! You’re very lucky to have gotten THE LOVE GODDESS’ COOKING SCHOOL. I really enjoyed the author’s first novel – now I’ll be looking forward to this one! (Looks like a WoW post!)

    Here’s my mailbox for the past 2 weeks: http://aseaofbooks.blogspot.com/2010/09/mailbox-monday-september-6-2010.html

  79. September 8, 2010 2:05 pm

    Pick up The Widower’s Tale right now! I’m reading it and loving it. Her best since Three Junes. I have the most amazing guest post from Julia on my author blog this morning, “The Not Quite Yes” – about her “overnight success” (really over years!). It’s one of the most inspiring posts I’ve gotten, and I’ve had posts from many amazing authors. It’s at http://megwaiteclayton.com/1stbooks/?p=2007

  80. givingreadingachance permalink
    September 9, 2010 1:12 am

    wowwwwwwwww!

Leave a comment