Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

December 8, 2010

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, write a post, and come back to add your link to Mr. Linky!

All of my words this week came from Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff.

1. extant – “There are no extant protests concerning tax collection, no evidence of the kind of revolt that had greeted her father’s return.”

Extant means currently or already existing.

_____________________________________________________

2. captious – “Generally the great Cicero had two modes: fawning and captious.”

Captious means marked by an often ill-natured inclination to stress faults and raise objections.  I’ve known several captious people and I wasn’t particularly fond of any of them!

_____________________________________________________

3. encomiums – “Cicero had particular difficulty with the young man’s florid encomiums of Caesar.”

Encomium means glowing and warmly enthusiastic praise.

_____________________________________________________

Have you discovered any new words lately?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Veens permalink
    December 8, 2010 5:12 am

    I like to hear some Encomium :o)
    I like all the words 🙂

  2. December 8, 2010 5:33 am

    I’ve also known some people who are captious. I prefer the encomium types myself!

    Here’s mine: http://mywordlyobsessions.wordpress.com

  3. December 8, 2010 6:49 am

    I used a word today that my husband informed me was very common. I guess I’m dumb!

  4. December 8, 2010 8:11 am

    Thanks for expanding my English knowledge today 🙂
    Hope you are enjoying Cleopatra!

  5. December 8, 2010 8:20 am

    Unfortunately, I’ve known several captious people too, but wish I didn’t.

    How is Cleopatra going?

  6. December 8, 2010 8:20 am

    I like encomiums and am going to have to find a way to pepper my conversations with it!! Thanks for sharing these!

  7. December 8, 2010 8:57 am

    Same here with knowing captious people!

  8. December 8, 2010 9:45 am

    rhi·zome (rī′zōm′)

    noun
    a creeping stem lying, usually horizontally, at or under the surface of the soil and differing from a root in having scale leaves, bearing leaves or aerial shoots near its tips, and producing roots from its undersurface

    From the book Witchgrass: A Pipe Dream (page 1) by Dave Wilkinson.

  9. December 8, 2010 9:55 am

    Such fun words!

  10. December 8, 2010 10:11 am

    I could use the first one…lol, one day

  11. December 8, 2010 10:31 am

    I like encomiums. I tend to be that way about books I really like.

  12. December 8, 2010 11:07 am

    I didn’t know any of them but I want to use Encomium and since like others I know some captious people I think I may be using that one, too.

  13. December 8, 2010 11:56 am

    It always amazes me how they can take something easy to describe and come up with such complicated words. lol. However I do like captious and may use that one especially since the person won’t know what I’m saying.

  14. December 8, 2010 12:02 pm

    3 great words! I particularly like captious & encomiums although I think I’ll have difficulty using the latter in my speech and writing!
    I agree with you about captious people, too…I don’t generally care for them!

  15. December 8, 2010 1:00 pm

    Captious captures my interest today! Great word. I will try to use it soon. 🙂

  16. Beth Hoffman permalink
    December 8, 2010 2:58 pm

    You always come up with fascinating words!

  17. December 8, 2010 3:14 pm

    A place for us self-proclaimed bibliophiles. Great idea!

  18. December 8, 2010 3:29 pm

    To me, encomium, just doesn’t look like it goes with it’s definition of glowing. Another 3 great words.

  19. December 8, 2010 3:35 pm

    I had no clue what encomiums were!

  20. December 8, 2010 4:27 pm

    I only have one this week. It is a musical term.

    Stop by to view it.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  21. December 8, 2010 5:58 pm

    Love this installment, Kathy 🙂

  22. December 8, 2010 6:19 pm

    Three more interesting words! “Encomium” is one of those words I used to know back when I was studying Latin in college (during the Pleistocene era), but promptly forgot. I’m gonna try to remember it this time around!

  23. December 8, 2010 8:56 pm

    Excellent words today!!

  24. December 9, 2010 1:54 pm

    X Nay on the captious-day

  25. December 9, 2010 3:24 pm

    Thanks for the new words today Kathy. I think I will have to get caught up and post mine next week!

Leave a comment