Skip to content

Mailbox Monday

January 3, 2011

Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia of The Printed Page and is being hosted by Rose City Reader during the month of January.  I was out of town from December 23 to January 1 and I’ve struggled with just how much to say about it on here.  My father became bedridden at the end of May, took a turn for the worse on December 21, and passed away on December 29.  I am thankful that I was able to go down on the 23rd and spend the last days of his life with him and my mother.  This has been a very emotional holiday for us, but I’m trying to focus on the fact that my dad lived 91 wonderful years.  He loved life and lived it to its fullest.  I am proud to be his daughter and will miss him dearly.

These are the books that came while I was gone:

Did you receive any new books last week?

81 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 5:09 am

    My condolences on the death of your father. I think I can share your feelings. My own father lived 94 years, at least 93 of which were good and full years. I still miss him and over 20 years later find myself thinking “I would like to tell Dad about that” or “Dad would be interested in that.” What he has left you — your memories and appreciation of him — you still have, but you will continue to miss his presence in your life.

  2. January 3, 2011 5:35 am

    I am so sorry to hear your sad news.

    Another of our fellow bloggers, lost a loved one on New Years Eve and my heart goes out to you both.

    It was good to hear that your Dad, led such a full life and was so obviously loved by his family.

    May you find peace in 2011

    Take Care

  3. Veens permalink
    January 3, 2011 6:06 am

    I am so sorry to hear this sad news. You are very fortunate to have spent his last few days with him.

    I hope you find peace and remember his love for life always and may that give you and your family to get through this difficult time. I hope the coming year be soothing and nice to you and help heal as well.

  4. January 3, 2011 6:17 am

    Oh Kathy – I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your dear father. What a blessing that you were able to be with him so much throughout the fall and holidays. My thoughts and prayers are with you, your mom and your family during this difficult time.

  5. January 3, 2011 6:44 am

    Oh Kathy, so sorry to hear about the passing for your dad. Although you will always miss him, he was fortunate to have lived a long life. HUGS to you friend.

  6. January 3, 2011 6:44 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss — especially during this time of the year. I know your mom appreciated that you were there with her.

  7. January 3, 2011 7:28 am

    Kathy
    I was sadden to hear of your father’s passing away. My thoughts go out to you and your family and I’m sending you lots of positive energy as you go through this.
    Sending you angels.

  8. January 3, 2011 7:43 am

    Kathy, I send my hugs for you. You got to spend time with him in his last days. And you will cherish that forever. May God bless his soul and give you peace to bear the loss.

    I lost my dad almost 9 years ago and still miss him. Not a day goes by when I don’t think of him. But I think of him with love, and all the positive things he taught us. It does get easier with time.

    More hugs for you…

  9. January 3, 2011 8:13 am

    Sorry about your loss. May he rest in peace and may god give you and your family the strength to help you get through this phase.

  10. January 3, 2011 8:37 am

    What a gift that you were able to spend time with your Dad. My condolences, Kathy.

  11. January 3, 2011 8:46 am

    I am so very sorry that you lost your dad.

    I just decided to stop reviewing books and read them for pure enjoyment and it’s the weirdest thing. I don’t fall asleep after the second page anymore. I am absolutely and thoroughly enjoying reading again! 🙂

  12. January 3, 2011 8:53 am

    So sorry to hear about your dad’s passing. It’s hard to lose someone any time of year, but this time of year especially. I just lost my great grandmother on December 10th at the age of 94 and that she did live a long, full life and that I had the opportunity to be there with the rest of my family for her passing are some small comfort me as I hope they will be for you as well. You and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  13. January 3, 2011 9:01 am

    I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your father. May it be a comfort to you that you were able to be with him at the end, and that you have such warm memories of him.
    Hope the New Year brings you peace.

    Beth

  14. January 3, 2011 9:12 am

    Oh Kathy! I’m so sorry to hear about your father’s passing. It sounds like he led a full life at 91 years and I know you’ll be forever grateful that you were able to spend his last days together. Hugs to you, Kathy.

  15. January 3, 2011 9:13 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your loss; I am glad you had many wonderful years together. You will cherish the memories!

    Your mailbox looks fabulous, and I hope you enjoy each book.

    Here’s my Monday:

    MONDAY MEMES: MAILBOX & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — JAN. 3

  16. January 3, 2011 9:13 am

    Kathy, I’m so sorry to hear about your father. My thoughts are with you.

  17. January 3, 2011 9:30 am

    Dearest Kathy, I’m so sorry for your loss. My hope is your many years of wonderful memories will help you through this sad time. I’m sure it meant the world to your parents you were able to spend this holiday with them. Please know my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. – Martha

  18. January 3, 2011 9:37 am

    Good books there, I do like the sound of that first one 😉
    And gcs are the best

  19. January 3, 2011 9:48 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad! I’ll be thinking about you all.

  20. January 3, 2011 9:50 am

    I’m so sorry for you loss – my condolences to your and your family. I can’t even imagine how difficult this holiday season was for you all. I’m glad that you were able to spend this time with him and that all the wonderful times and memories you shared with him will always be with you. Take care.

  21. January 3, 2011 10:15 am

    I’m so sorry about your dad, Kathy. I’ll keep you and your family in my thoughts.

  22. January 3, 2011 10:21 am

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. My thoughts are with you and your family as you celebrate your dad’s life.

  23. January 3, 2011 10:35 am

    I know that things with your dad have been getting rather more serious in the past few weeks, and I want to pass along my condolences to you and your family. It’s so hard to see someone you love slip away slowly like that, and it must have been hard on everybody. I wish you peace and blessings, and will continue to pray for you.

  24. January 3, 2011 10:40 am

    Kathy, I too am very sorry to hear about your father. A death in the family during the holidays has its own difficulties. My mother died on Dec. 27, 1991 and Christmas lost its charm for me then. May your happy memories of your dad sustain you as you grieve.

  25. January 3, 2011 10:43 am

    I’m so sorry about your father Kathy and I can only imagine how hard this holiday season was for you. You are so lucky to have had such a close relationship with him and I’m sure you have many precious memories to get you through the days ahead of you.

  26. January 3, 2011 10:58 am

    Kathy I am sorry to hear of your dad’s passing. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  27. January 3, 2011 11:43 am

    Kathy, my sincerest condolences on your dad’s passing. Glad you were able to spend the last few days with him. My thoughts are with you.

    I hope you enjoy The Winter Sea as much as Sandra did.

    Hugs,
    Laura

  28. January 3, 2011 12:01 pm

    Oh Kathy, I am so sorry to hear your sad news. I am glad you got to spend some quality time with your father before he passed. My thoughts are with you and your family. Big hugsxx

  29. January 3, 2011 12:04 pm

    Kathy-
    I am so so sorry to hear of your loss. I’m glad you were able to spend a few days with your father before he passed. Sending lots of love your way…

  30. January 3, 2011 12:05 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss Kathy.

  31. January 3, 2011 12:07 pm

    I am sorry about your father’s passing, Kathy.

  32. January 3, 2011 12:14 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I know how hard it is when there is a death during the holidays.

  33. January 3, 2011 12:18 pm

    Kathy, I’m so sorry about your Dad. You and I talked several times about our parents and their health issues. I know that you are grieving and it is a difficult time, but I also know that you are so glad you spent time with him over these last months and those memories are priceless. Big hugs to you!

  34. January 3, 2011 12:18 pm

    Kathy, I’m so sorry to hear about your dad.

  35. January 3, 2011 12:49 pm

    My condolences on your dad’s passing.
    Wishful Thinking and The Winter Sea sounds good.

  36. January 3, 2011 1:09 pm

    Sorry to hear of your loss, Kathy

  37. January 3, 2011 1:16 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss, Kathy! 91 years is an amazing life and you are right to be proud to be his daughter.

  38. January 3, 2011 2:00 pm

    Kathy, I’m very sorry to hear about your father’s passing. Take care of yourself & keep well.

  39. January 3, 2011 2:02 pm

    I hope you enjoy all of your great books.. I am just getting back into blogging and haven’t gotten any new books lately.. =)

  40. January 3, 2011 2:33 pm

    My sympathies are with you on the loss of your father.

    I hope you enjoy The Winter Sea; I thought it was a beautiful and moving read.
    Prom and Prejudice looks like a fun read.

    My MM is here: http://www.psychoticstate.net/2011/01/mailbox-monday-january-3-2010.html

  41. Beth Hoffman permalink
    January 3, 2011 2:37 pm

    Oh, Kathy … you know how I feel. I’m just so incredibly sorry about the passing of your dad. I think of you and your family every day. Big hugs to you.

  42. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:11 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about your father. I”m sure it was a comfort to be there with him. You’ll be in my prayers, Kathy.

  43. January 3, 2011 3:28 pm

    My condolences for you and your family. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.
    {{hugs}}

  44. January 3, 2011 4:32 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful belated Christmas delivery!!! Enjoy!!

  45. January 3, 2011 4:33 pm

    Kathy – I’m sorry to hear about your Dad, but very grateful that you got to spend some time with him… and 91! That is amazing. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs and good thoughts flowing your way.

  46. January 3, 2011 4:41 pm

    So sorry to hear about the loss of your father during the holidays. You and your mother are in my thoughts.

    Winter of Sea looks like it will be a good one. I keep seeing that one in various mailboxes. 🙂

  47. January 3, 2011 4:42 pm

    Kathy, I saw your mention of your dad’s passing on Jenner’s post about her mom. I was just going to email you my sympathy since you had not mentioned it. I am thankful that you got to spend time with him during his last days. May you and your family be comforted as you grieve.

  48. January 3, 2011 4:52 pm

    I’m so sorry about your loss. 91 years, though — wow! My father was only 62 when he died. It’s so, so hard losing a father. I’m glad you had him around for so long and got to spend those final days with him.

    The Winter Sea is a wonderful book. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  49. January 3, 2011 5:19 pm

    I can only tell you again how sad I am for you…it hurts and hurts and will hit you when you least expect it…I know you have loving friends and family to help you when you need them. And when my dad died last year…reading actually helped…it is really when I began reading fantasy…most likely my escape from some of the sadness…take care…

  50. January 3, 2011 6:06 pm

    Oh Kathy, I am sorry to hear about your dad; he has been in my thoughts and prayers for quite awhile now. I am glad you got to spend time with him at the end and hope that helps bring you some comfort.

  51. January 3, 2011 6:15 pm

    I’m so sorry about your loss. I lost my dad last May and I totally understand what you were going through. Please take comfort in the fact that you got to be there with him and say goodbye. All my best wishes in this time for you and your family and I hope that books can bring you much comfort.

  52. January 3, 2011 6:45 pm

    I’m so sorry about your loss Kathy — especially this time of year.

    May the new year bring peace and healing you you and your mother.

  53. January 3, 2011 6:49 pm

    You had a fantastic week! I read Prom & Prejudice last week and it was cute. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

  54. January 3, 2011 6:54 pm

    Sorry for your loss. Your books sound good. I read an ARC of Euphemania and loved it. Hope you do too.

  55. January 3, 2011 7:52 pm

    As you know, I’m am so sorry to hear about your father. I hope you find some peace in the new year.

  56. January 3, 2011 8:08 pm

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss, Kathy. I’m glad you were able to spend those last days with your father. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  57. January 3, 2011 8:19 pm

    I’m so sorry about your loss, Kathy. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  58. January 3, 2011 8:37 pm

    Please accept my most sincere condolences. I know it’s a difficult time, my own mom is going to be 91 on Jan. 11th, and deteriorating rapidly. I’m not sure she’ll make it to her birthday. We are fortunate to have our parents for so long. I hope you will find comfort in your memories.

  59. January 3, 2011 9:35 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss. You both were blessed that you got to spend his last days together.

  60. January 3, 2011 9:48 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss, my condolences to you and your family. No matter how old someone is when they pass away, it’s always hard and always hurts. May the new year bring you peace, happiness and health.

  61. January 3, 2011 9:52 pm

    Kathy, honey, I am so sorry to hear about your beloved father. I am sending all of my love your way and hugs and whatever else might make you feel even an ounce better right now. Please let me know if I can do anything to help or to cheer you up–I have a routine that makes Ava laugh when she’s sad and I have yet to try it on an adult 🙂 Seriously, though, write if you need anything.

    Love, Rebecca

  62. January 3, 2011 10:11 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your father and I will keep you in my thoughts. Take care of yourself!

  63. January 3, 2011 10:40 pm

    I’m so sorry about your father; certainly a fraught holiday for you, but your gratefulness for those few days is inspiring. Wishing you well.

  64. stilettostorytime permalink
    January 4, 2011 1:04 am

    So sorry to hear of your loss…I will keep you and your family in my thoughts. Sending love and happy reading in 2011 your way!

    Courtney

  65. January 4, 2011 1:43 am

    Truly sorry to hear the sad news about your dad. Hoping you have peace and comfort in the new year.

  66. January 4, 2011 10:29 am

    Kathy I am so sorry about your Dad. The death of a parent is one of the hardest losses we ever endure. My heart goes out to you. Those last few days you were able to spend with him will become cherished memories once the ache begins to ease away. My daddy died two years ago and I made it out to Oklahoma to be with him the day before he passed away. I’m sending you a million virtual hugs.

  67. January 4, 2011 11:08 am

    I am sorry to hear about losing your dad during the holidays-I could not imagine. I will keep your family in my thoughts.

  68. January 4, 2011 11:48 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your loss, Cathy. I am sending hugs and prayers your way.

  69. January 4, 2011 12:45 pm

    Sorry to hear about your dad. It’s never easy, especially during the holidays.

  70. January 4, 2011 1:41 pm

    Oh, Kathy, I’m getting overwhelmed reading all the kind condolences … I hope you’re feeling them! Thinking of you and sending cyber-hugs.

  71. January 4, 2011 4:02 pm

    Kathy,
    I’m so sorry to hear about the passing of your beloved father. Even though he lived 91 wonderful years, as his daughter it’s still hard to say goodbye. I’m thinking of you and your family!

  72. January 5, 2011 8:27 am

    Kathy ~ I am so very sorry to hear about your father’s passing. My heart goes out to you and your family. ((hugs))

  73. January 5, 2011 9:52 am

    My father passed away five years ago, right before Christmas as well. My deepest sympathies go out to you and your family. It is wonderful he lived to the beautiful age of 91 and that you were able to spend his last days with him. Peace to you as you get back into the swing of things.

  74. January 5, 2011 10:28 am

    Kathy, I’m so sorry to hear about your father. My condolences… {{HUGS}}

  75. January 5, 2011 10:49 am

    You have got such nice books this week. Enjoy the reading

  76. January 5, 2011 12:35 pm

    Kathy, I am so, so sorry for your loss. ((HUGS))

  77. January 6, 2011 11:22 am

    Kathy, I’m so sorry. I’m glad you had those last days with him and I pray that you will find comfort and peace in the days ahead. Hugs my friend.

  78. January 6, 2011 4:00 pm

    Kathy, I am so sorry to hear about your father. My thoughts and prayers are with your family. My dad is 86 and I tell myself everyday that he has had a good, long life but I also know that I will never be ready to be without him.

  79. January 7, 2011 1:29 pm

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your dad. As you know, I lost my mom during this holiday too. I hate that we have this shared connection. Hugs to you.

  80. January 7, 2011 6:02 pm

    Very sorry about your father.
    I really like the books you have mentioned on your blog!

    Best wishes to you and your family.

  81. January 8, 2011 10:53 pm

    My sympathy on the loss of your father. I hope you have wonderful memories to hold in your heart 🙂

Leave a comment