Skip to content

Review – Book: My Autobiography

April 29, 2016

Book

Book: My Autobiography by John Agard tells the story of, well, stories, beginning with oral tales and moving on to the written word on clay, papyrus, etc.  It details the beginning of alphabets and the written word as well.  The evolution of books from scrolls, to bound volumes, to e-books is also explored.  All of this is told from the point of view of a book.

Aimed at older middle school or younger YA readers, I found this unique book to be a little dry.  I really appreciate what the author was trying to do but I found the presentation a little odd to read with passages like this.

With greater quantities of me being produced, I, Book, was getting cheaper, which meant more people could now afford to buy me.

Neil Packer’s illustrations are great and enhance the book and help hold readers’ attention.  In the end, though, this was just an okay read for me.

kid konnection newI will link this up to Booking Mama’s Saturday feature, Kid Konnection. If you’d like to participate in Kid Konnection and share a post about anything related to children’s books (picture, middle grade, or young adult) from the past week, leave a comment as well as a link on her site.

Review copy provided by Candlewick Press. I am an Indiebound Affiliate.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2016 10:25 am

    An interesting idea that lost steam in the telling though it sounds like I’d probably enjoy leafing through it for the illustrations.

  2. April 29, 2016 10:38 am

    I think the telling of the story via the voice of a book is a little strange, but I would still give it a chance.

  3. April 29, 2016 3:10 pm

    This sounds really good, so I am disappointed you don’t like it better!

  4. Patty permalink
    April 29, 2016 3:20 pm

    Wow…that is an awkward sentence!

  5. April 29, 2016 4:05 pm

    It definitely has a unique spin that sounds interesting but I can tell execution was not on point, unfortunate.

  6. April 29, 2016 7:35 pm

    Kathy, thanks for sharing your honest thoughts about this book. Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

  7. April 29, 2016 11:38 pm

    Ouch! That writing might be hard to take after a while.

  8. April 30, 2016 9:27 pm

    That would be really hard to get through with writing like that!

  9. May 1, 2016 5:15 pm

    Interesting concept, but not sure that I believe a teenager would stay engaged enough to read it.

  10. May 2, 2016 2:13 am

    Hmmm..the concept sounds interesting but that writing example does give me pause!

  11. May 2, 2016 11:23 am

    This sounds like fun! Not sure my kiddo would be interested yet.

  12. bookingmama permalink
    May 3, 2016 5:56 pm

    When I was reading your description of the book, I wondered if kids would appreciate it.

Leave a comment