Skip to content

Review: Something New

July 7, 2016

Something New

I’m a huge fan of Lucy Knisley‘s graphic memoirs so was excited when her latest endeavor, Something New: Tales of a Makeshift Bride was released and I grabbed it to read the weekend our nephew got married.  It was a great decision because I was completely charmed by this book!

When Knisley’s boyfriend proposed and she started planning her wedding she was taken aback by the wedding industry.  Since she’s artistic and she and her husband-to-be aren’t fancy people, she decided to forgo many of the expectations and do much of the wedding planning and preparation herself resulting in a delightful, personal wedding.

In Something New, Knisley not only shares her experiences with wedding planning, she also gives ideas on ways to personalize a wedding and save money at the same time.  She also fills readers in on her back story and the story of her relationship with John.

Knisley really knows how to get to the meat of the story and give readers the details that are important.  Her outstanding illustrations are fun to study and bring the story to life.  I found Something New to be a quick and satisfying read and I do recommend it.

I am an Indiebound Affiliate.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2016 5:28 am

    I love her too. Definitely will look for this one!

  2. July 7, 2016 7:27 am

    I just brought it home from the library – glad to hear you recommend it!

  3. July 7, 2016 9:23 am

    I’ve never read any graphic books. I don’t know why, but I don’t have any desire to start. You do make them sound appealing, though.

  4. July 7, 2016 9:53 am

    I love Lucy Knisley’s books! Wish my library would order them…

  5. bookingmama permalink
    July 7, 2016 10:36 am

    Sounds adorable. I’ve never read one of her books. Maybe I should start with this one?

  6. July 7, 2016 11:12 am

    Charming, is always good. I love simple weddings! Some of the best, fun weddings I’ve attended were super simple ones. The last one I went to had mixed cocktails in small mason jars in a large barrel of ice and they were just there for the taking… pre-mixed and ready to enjoy. No bartender! They chose three to focus on and it was great. The jars were meant to be kept too so they also functioned as party favors. I have an entire set.

  7. July 7, 2016 11:27 am

    I haven’t read this author, but this book does sound delightful. A personalized wedding sounds like the way to go.

    Thanks for sharing.

  8. July 7, 2016 2:02 pm

    this sounds great. I can’t wait to see if the library has this one.

  9. Patty permalink
    July 7, 2016 2:03 pm

    It sounds lovely!

  10. July 7, 2016 2:53 pm

    I love her graphic novels, I’ll have to add this to my list.

  11. July 7, 2016 3:20 pm

    I loved her previous book about the cruise with her grandparents. Can’t wait to read this. Wonder if the library has it…..

  12. Literary Feline permalink
    July 7, 2016 3:36 pm

    Perfect timing to read this book! It sounds delightful, Kathy. I will be adding this to my wish list.

  13. July 7, 2016 3:47 pm

    I do not read many graphics, but they are fun

  14. July 7, 2016 4:08 pm

    I would love to see this in the Bookstore and have a look, sounds sweet.

  15. July 7, 2016 4:28 pm

    I am behind on Knisley’s books. I think I have at least 3 pending. I have to find these soon.

  16. July 7, 2016 6:40 pm

    This sound like such a fun graphic memoir! Your read it at the right time. 🙂

  17. July 7, 2016 7:17 pm

    I am also a fan. It feels like I’m watching her mature from high school and on into marriage – all through her graphic novels. Thanks for letting me know about this new one.

  18. July 8, 2016 11:21 am

    I’ve not read her books. This one sounds very interesting

  19. July 8, 2016 6:27 pm

    When I got this one in the mail, I was surprised at how thick it was! I haven’t picked it up yet, saving it for a rainy day or something, but I’m definitely looking forward to it.

  20. July 9, 2016 12:10 am

    Her books sound wonderful, and even though I wouldn’t think of picking up a book about wedding planning necessarily – this one does sound charming!

  21. Beth F permalink
    July 9, 2016 8:09 am

    I loved this too!

  22. July 10, 2016 3:56 am

    I read this recently and absolutely adored it! I really like her style and how honest her text feels, too. Glad to hear you loved this one too!

  23. July 12, 2016 11:25 pm

    I loved her last one about the cruise with her grandparents. I’ll have to look for this one.

Leave a comment