Skip to content

The Week in Review: 11.08.2019

November 8, 2019
tags:

the-week-in-review

Between the Covers

Finished last week:

THE BODY: A GUIDE FOR OCCUPANTS by Bill Bryson is just what it says it is – an overview of the human body.  Bryson takes readers on a tour of the intricacies of the human body, system by system.  Not only does he describe each system, he gives details on diseases, research and medical pioneers, treatments, etc. all in a very readable, accessible way.

I found this book fascinating and always looked forward to returning to it.  I learned a lot and gladly shared the information with anyone who would listen.  A few of the things I learned were:

  • The only sure way to prevent male baldness is castration before hair loss begins.
  • We become nauseated when we’re dizzy because the body thinks it’s been poisoned.

I listened to the audio version which is narrated by Bryson himself.  At first it seemed odd to hear British pronounciations and an American accent but I adjusted to it quickly and ending up loving this book.  I wanted more and hated for it to end.  (Review copy provided by Penguin Random House.)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

WILLOW THE THERAPY DOG by Lisa M. Gerry is part of National Geographic Kids Doggy Defenders Series.  It features a rescued greyhound named Willow who has become a therapy dog.  Readers follow Willow for a day, starting in the morning when she puts on her therapy dog vest.  Once she’s ready, she visits patients (as well as doctors and nurses) in a hospital, children in a school, veterans in a home, and children in a library.  After her busy day, she goes home to relax, eat, and cuddle.

This sweet picture book contains lots of full color photos by Lori Epstein throughout Willow’s day.  The back of the book includes a Question and Answer with Willow’s owner about what it’s like to own a therapy dog and a page of tips on being a good friend and neighbor.  Young dog lovers will adore this book like I did and want to read it over and over again.  (Review copy provided by Media Masters Publicity.)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Shortly after Lucy Knisley got married, she and her husband decided to forgo birth control “not try but not try not to get pregnant,” and get pregnant she did.  Sadly that pregnancy ended in miscarriage and Knisley dealt with guilt, grief, and conception issues before her successful pregnancy.  She shares her journey in her latest graphic memoir, KID GLOVES: NINE MONTHS OF CAREFUL CHAOS.

I’m a big fan of Knisley’s work and was excited to see our library had a copy of her latest book.  This VERY personal memoir is informative, educational and entertaining.  I’m well past child-bearing years so most of the information in this book doesn’t pertain to me but I still thought the book and its artwork were terrific.  Not only does Knisley share a lot of information about pregnancy and birthing, she dispels many pregnancy myths.  Be forewarned, though, her childbirth experience was harrowing, so those about to give birth might want to wait to read this book.

Currently reading:

On the Screen

Not much of anything.

Off the blog

  • Our warm weather seems to be gone for the season and I broke down and cut the heat on Monday morning.
  • I’ve noticed Christmas decorations popping up all over the place, including our neighborhood.
  • I’ve been fighting a cold all week and will be glad when I finally shake this thing.  It’s been years since I’ve had one so I’d forgotten how long they can linger.
  • I walked at least three miles every morning and averaged almost 16,100 Fitbit steps a day.

What’s going on in your corner of the world?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2019 6:24 am

    I haven’t noticed Christmas decorations in our neighborhood but the thought crossed my mind that the next warm day we have I should put the lights on the evergreens. I wait until after Thanksgiving to turn them on. Winter has arrived with snow, wind and freezing temps.Nice job on the steps despite the cold. Hope you don’t have it much longer.

  2. November 8, 2019 7:16 am

    Both of these books sound wonderful. And around me too it seems like the stores are now all in with Christmas!

  3. Lloyd Russell permalink
    November 8, 2019 8:59 am

    Bill Bryson is definitely unique. I’ve read 2 of his books. And Harriett (about Harriett Tubman) is terrific.

    Lloyd (408) 348-4849

    On Fri, Nov 8, 2019 at 1:01 AM Bermudaonion’s Weblog wrote:

    > BermudaOnion posted: ” Between the Covers Finished last week: THE BODY: A > GUIDE FOR OCCUPANTS by Bill Bryson is just what it says it is – an overview > of the human body. Bryson takes readers on a tour of the intricacies of > the human body, system by system. Not only does ” >

  4. November 8, 2019 3:17 pm

    I have the Bryson and Nat Geo Kids books on hold at the library. I have the Knisley book, and a few of her other books on my list to read.

  5. November 8, 2019 4:01 pm

    I have noticed “xmas” things too, but they are so subtle still so they can just be lights in darkness, which works here

  6. November 8, 2019 5:15 pm

    All three of the books featured here sound interesting. I hope your cold doesn’t linger too much longer. Try to get some extra rest (and reading in) this weekend if you can, Kathy!

  7. November 8, 2019 9:27 pm

    I want to listen to Bryson’s book!

  8. Helen Murdoch permalink
    November 9, 2019 5:05 pm

    I seem to get sick at the end of October every year and this year it turned into laryngitis, which I am having trouble getting rid of. I’ve enjoyed Bryson’s past books so will have to look into Body.

  9. November 9, 2019 10:14 pm

    I plan to buy the Bryson book for my husband for Christmas. He has enjoyed all of his books and this sounds like another winner.

    We both had colds on our road trip, but mine only lasted a few days. I used Airborne religiously and spent one day just napping between reading and watching movies. Seemed to do the trick! Hope you are well soon!

  10. Diane permalink
    November 10, 2019 8:39 am

    Christmas certainly is in the air – all the stores are so crowded with extra inventory for the season. Sorry about your cold and how miserable they tend to make us feel. Feel better soon.

  11. November 10, 2019 9:15 am

    I’ve read several of Bryson’s books, does The Body have the same sense of humour?
    I hope your cold eases soon.

    Wishing you a great reading week

  12. November 10, 2019 10:13 am

    I keep meaning to pick up a Bill Bryson book to give a go.

    We had a sprinkling of snow here yesterday morning!

  13. Trin Carl permalink
    November 10, 2019 10:48 am

    Colds are tough. Hope you get through it. On a side note my three year old son last night but seems to be getting better. thank god.

  14. November 10, 2019 12:05 pm

    great job with your walking. hope you feel better soon. i am thinking about decorating…but i haven’t seen anything on the streets around here…yet. i am sure i will soon
    sherry @ fundinmental

  15. November 10, 2019 12:48 pm

    The Bryson sounds great – over the past few years we’ve had some health issues in our family and among friends and its at those times you realise just how little you know about how the body works.
    Castration as .cure for baldness? Seems a drastic solution!

  16. November 10, 2019 5:40 pm

    The Bill Bryson book sounds so fascinating, I think my father-in-law would love it.

  17. November 10, 2019 7:56 pm

    I loved The Body, too, and I, like you, hated to see it end. Odd fact: neither of the two things you learned from the book are things I remember reading….I guess I completely missed both of those, which is not really odd considering the amount of new facts I ran across in the book.

    I very much want to read Kid Gloves, but it looks like I won’t get around to this book until after Christmas. Maybe I’ll just go ahead and request it and see if it is available….

    I’m sorry you have picked up a cold. Let’s hope it relinquishes its hold on you soon.

    Have a lovely week!

  18. Sarah Sammis permalink
    November 10, 2019 8:01 pm

    There are a few strings of fairy lights here and there in the neighborhood.Some houses hang them for Halloween and keep them up for Christmas, while taking down the other decorations and waiting to put up the rest. The lights are like the decorating segue between holidays. My weekly update

  19. November 10, 2019 10:06 pm

    Your books look good. Enjoy them, and thanks for sharing.

  20. November 12, 2019 9:59 am

    The Bryson book sounds really good & I’m sure he adds his humor to it as well, right? I look forward to it — though I know I’ll be waiting for quite awhile. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  21. Beth F permalink
    November 12, 2019 11:32 am

    I agree that Kid Gloves was really well done but could be scary too. I have the Bryson book queued up on my phone. I’ll get to it one of these days. 🙂

  22. November 12, 2019 6:29 pm

    Kid Gloves sounds like a book I want to read and avoid…even 8 years after giving birth. LOL but i love the author’s previous work, so I’ll grab this one sometime soon.

  23. November 14, 2019 9:47 pm

    At least four of my neighbors have their Christmas lights up and turn them on every night. It’s not right! I hope you feel better soon!

  24. November 14, 2019 11:02 pm

    I want to read all three of those! I think Jason would really like the Bryson book and he’s always looking for a great audio. I’m interested to read about Lucy, as someone who had a miscarriage and a harrowing birth story I feel like I’m the perfect reader 🙂

Leave a comment