Skip to content

Which books should I take to the beach?

July 18, 2009
tags:

HPIM0169

I sure wish I could come up with more clever titles for my blog posts!  We’re heading off to the beach for a few days next week, and I usually get a lot of reading done when we’re there.  This year, we’ll only be there for three full days and four nights, but we do have tickets for a fun, bookish event one night.  We’re going to see one of author George Dawes Green’s Moth Events.  (The Moth is a storytelling organization.)   I’ve got these books stacked to take with me:

Obviously I can’t read that many books in three days, even at the beach.  Please help me decide what to bring with me by voting and letting me know which one of these books you think I should take.

49 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2009 6:46 am

    I voted for Hunger Games. I absolutely loved that book! I’ve heard good things about many of the other books too. Have a great time at the beach. 🙂

  2. July 18, 2009 7:14 am

    Oh, I have to do this, too! We’re headed out to the beach, next week as well. I think I MIGHT cave and give in to Hunger Games. I’m not much for YA but it’s just so gosh darn compelling and I’m the last (second to last?) person on earth to read it, I think.
    Also, I’ll be interested to read your review of Dairy Queen. You’re a Georgian, too, if I remember correctly.

  3. July 18, 2009 7:25 am

    I voted for Hunger Games. It’s a fantastic book and I think you should read it ASAP!

  4. July 18, 2009 7:40 am

    I say, Persepolis! I loved that.

  5. July 18, 2009 7:40 am

    Have a wonderful getaway, Kathy. I voted for Holly’s Inbox simply because the email format of the book would make it an easy beach-read.

  6. July 18, 2009 8:03 am

    I’m taking Holly’s Inbox! I wouldn’t take American Lion because that’s not a beach read. I think easy-to-read is the key. How about DAIRY QUEEN and SWIMSUIT too?

  7. July 18, 2009 8:12 am

    Well, I usually read mysteries at the beach, but I think any of these books would be good vacation reading. But I love the title of “Salvation at the Dairy Queen.” I’m definitely gonna have to take a look at that one!

  8. July 18, 2009 8:15 am

    oh yea, Holly’s Inbox!

  9. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 18, 2009 8:17 am

    Have a great beach vacation!

  10. July 18, 2009 8:21 am

    Hi there —
    The Poet is an absolute masterpiece. Just so compelling and well-written. I’ve read all of Connelly’s stuff since discovering The Poet! Have a wonderful time at the beach. What a perfect vacation — a stack of books and the shore.

  11. July 18, 2009 8:23 am

    Ok. I voted — Read Hunger Games, you won’t be sorry. I also urge you to read Wintergirls and Persepolis. I just got Willow myself and hope to read it soon.

    Have a super time and I love the photo.

  12. July 18, 2009 9:21 am

    Hope you have a wonderful time! I voted for The Hunger Games, but Holly’s Inbox was a close second.

  13. July 18, 2009 9:45 am

    Hunger Games!!! You just have to read it.

  14. July 18, 2009 10:13 am

    I voted for the DAIRY QUEEN book – you have a LOT of titles I would love to read myself, but I think it’s important when “on vacation” to take soemthing upbeat but not so compulsive as a thriller. After all, you want to be able to get you nose OUT of the book from time to time! And your little trip sounds like it will have some good stories of its own. Can’t wait for you to tell us about it. Have fun!

  15. July 18, 2009 10:18 am

    The only book I read on that list is the Poet and i really liked it – but then again I’m partial to a good detective book! Have a great time 🙂

  16. July 18, 2009 10:32 am

    I haven’t read any of these books, but after looking at the Amazon synopsis, I want to read Wicked Plants, so I cast my minor vote for that one! Have a good time in the sun and sand!

  17. July 18, 2009 10:54 am

    I voted for Dairy Queen because it sounds like such fun. What a great idea for a post, Kathy! Most of all, have fun!

  18. July 18, 2009 11:12 am

    I voted for Persepolis – it’s not only excellent, but also a quick read. I hope you have a wonderful time!

  19. July 18, 2009 11:27 am

    I wouldn’t consider American Lion a beach book. Besides, it’s too heavy! (well, in both senses!) The Dairy Queen book sounds apropos!

    I love the picture. I want to go too!

  20. July 18, 2009 11:54 am

    Finger Lickin’ obviously…its Stephanie Plum…what could be more perfect for the beach, and I’ve never heard of it, but I think that Lookin’ for Salvation at the Dairy Queen might just have the best title I’ve seen in a long time…so that’s my vote for #2! (The poll only let me choose one..so there you go..my second choice)

    Have a blast!!

  21. July 18, 2009 11:58 am

    I voted Holly’s Inbox after reading a couple really good reviews. It’s supposed to be cute, fun, light- beach perfect! But I’d also take Wintergirls and Hunger Games. The poll only let me vote for one but I’d take more 🙂

  22. July 18, 2009 12:19 pm

    I tried to vote for two books (Hunger Games and Fingerlicking 15), but ended up with just one 😉 Hope you will have a great trip to the beach. I wish it was me. I am tired these days and really need a vacation, but – sigh – have to wait until mid-August before it is my turn.

  23. July 18, 2009 12:28 pm

    I didn’t vote because the only one of those that I’ve read is Persepolis and it’s great, but graphic novels go too quick to be worth the space they take up when traveling, IMO. I like to take something longish, something medium-length but either light or YA, and a nonfiction book, when I travel.

  24. July 18, 2009 12:47 pm

    Holly’s Inbox for sure!!! I have American Lion to read also. I think I’d be taking those two. 🙂

  25. July 18, 2009 1:14 pm

    I tried to highlight more than one button but it didn’t work. 😀 So I voted for Hunger Games. I would also have voted for Persepolis, I didn’t like it that much but it’s one that I would encourage others to try for themselves.

  26. July 18, 2009 1:45 pm

    I’m sure all the books in your stack have merit. However, you are going to the beach, you are escaping from real life. Laugh with Stephanie Plum and Lulu and Grandma Mazur.

  27. Bobbie Crawford-McCoy permalink
    July 18, 2009 1:51 pm

    I recommend Holly’s Inbox, Kathy.
    The way it’s set up (in email format) makes it really easy to pick up and put down…essential when you’re having a great time and might want to do things on the spur of the moment. 🙂
    I hope you have a wonderful, relaxing time!!!

    -Bobbie
    Book Reviews By Bobbie

  28. July 18, 2009 1:53 pm

    I haven’t read any of these, but Evanovich always seems like a good beach read to me. 🙂

    Lezlie

  29. DarcyO permalink
    July 18, 2009 2:07 pm

    I voted for Finger Lickin’ Fifteen, but it shouldn’t take long to read, so better bring along another one, maybe DAIRY QUEEN.

  30. July 18, 2009 3:58 pm

    i voted for summer vaction title appropriate books LOL: Dairy Queen, Finger Lickin and Swimsuit.

    Have fun whatever you decide on Kathy 🙂

  31. July 18, 2009 4:06 pm

    Hunger Games and Wicked Plants!

  32. July 18, 2009 4:51 pm

    I voted for Finger Lickin’ Fifteen…a fun book to read. Have a fabulous time at the beach!!

  33. July 18, 2009 5:32 pm

    I went for Evanovich. She’s usually a fun beach read.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  34. July 18, 2009 5:56 pm

    I voted for “Holly’s Inbox”! When I go to the beach I like something fun and light-hearted that didn’t require intense concentration. But if you prefer something more intense and attention grabbing I’d chose “Hunger Games” or “The Poet”.
    Have a wonderful time, Kathy! My fingers are crossed that you get lots of sun!

    Amy

  35. July 18, 2009 6:16 pm

    Hunger Games is a definite must. I’d also say you should read Persepolis. I would say Wintergirls, but the subject matter might be a bit heavy for beach reading.

  36. July 18, 2009 8:43 pm

    I voted for The Hunger Games because I loved that fast-paced novel, but I would have also voted for Holly’s Inbox, which I just started and it is great as well.

    Have fun at the beach!

  37. July 18, 2009 9:46 pm

    I voted for Persepolis, as that’s the only one I’ve actually read myself. 🙂 But I want to read The Hunger Games and American Lion, too. Enjoy your vacation!

  38. July 18, 2009 9:48 pm

    Well, me being me, unless you are flying and then have a serious luggage conundrum, I’d just go ahead and pack them all. But I am the queen of overkill (took about 70 books with me for roughly 6 weeks)! If you have to narrow it down, I’d probably start with Holly’s Inbox simply because of the size of it (I find I start bigger books on vacation better than I do at home).

  39. July 18, 2009 10:34 pm

    Enjoy your time on the beach and I hope the votes give you a great read!! I voted for Finger Lickin’ 15!!

  40. July 18, 2009 11:59 pm

    Definitely The Hunger Games!

  41. July 19, 2009 12:24 am

    I voted for THE HUNGER GAMES, since I’ve read so many rave reviews. Have a great time!

  42. July 19, 2009 12:40 am

    What a nice photo of you two! You look so relaxed…that’s what the beach is for, right? I voted for Holly’s Inbox, it sounds fun and light. And I voted for The Hunger Games because I keep hearing raves about it. I need to read that one myself. Too bad my hubby isn’t taking me to the beach!

  43. July 19, 2009 6:19 am

    I voted. Have fun at the beach.

  44. July 19, 2009 10:29 am

    I’ve had JANEOLOGY on my wish list for a while, that would be one of my choices … but they ALL look so good, I can see why you’re asking for help choosing!

    Are you heading to Hilton Head? Next summer we’ll meet you there!

  45. July 19, 2009 1:15 pm

    I think I was probably too late in my voting but I voted for Holly’s Inbox. I think it’s the perfect beach read and so funny! Have a good time Kathy – you and your hubby make such a nice couple!

  46. July 19, 2009 3:15 pm

    I love the photo I’m so envious – the beach and the pile of books! I have several of those in my TBR pile too. The Hunger Games was great and the sequel will be out soon. Every summer I have to read Stephanie Plum and can’t wait to read #15! You can’t go wrong with any of these. Enjoy and have a wonderful time!

  47. July 19, 2009 4:37 pm

    I only read “The Hugger Games” from your list, and I loved it! I voted selfishly though, for “Janeology” : I’m very curious about this one but haven’t seen that many reviews of it yet! I’ve heard good things on “Willow” and “Wintergirls”, too.

  48. July 19, 2009 4:38 pm

    Obviously, I meant “The Hunger Games”. “The Hugger Games” would be a whole other story!

  49. July 20, 2009 4:42 pm

    Have a wonderful time! Happy reading and enjoy the sunshine.

Leave a comment