Skip to content

The Blind Side

December 6, 2009

The Blind Side, starring Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw is based on the true story of Michael Oher.  Michael had a tough childhood growing up in the projects, yet somehow maintained a sweet, gentle side.  He found himself homeless and in over his head academically in a private, Christian high school in Memphis, Tennessee.

Leigh Anne Tuohy’s children attended the same school, so she was familiar with “Big Mike” as he was called at that time.  When Leigh Anne spotted Michael walking along the road in cold, wet weather, dressed only in shorts and a short sleeved shirt, she brought him home to spend the night.   (Leigh Anne is portrayed as a woman who never takes no for an answer.)  I don’t want to give any more of the movie away, but that simple action changed the lives of Michael and the whole Tuohy family.

I really enjoyed The Blind Side, but  I wonder if those who don’t enjoy football would like it as much as I did. The story takes place in Memphis and I thought the movie definitely had a Southern feel to it.  Both Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw were good in their roles, and Jae Head as SJ Tuohy was just as cute as he could be.  I found it ironic that all the college football coaches who were featured are no longer coaching at the schools they represented in the movie.

The Blind Side is a feel good, inspirational movie that reminds viewers that by taking action we can make a difference in the lives of others.  Make sure to take some tissues if you go to see it.  This video is a few years old and it’s a little long, but you can see the real people involved in this story and shed a few tears:

38 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2009 8:12 am

    Sounds like something I would love watching. Thanks for the recommendation Kathy..

  2. December 6, 2009 8:34 am

    The critics’ reviews on this weren’t all that great, but everyone I know that has seen the movie has enjoyed it. I even read yesterday that there is a small amount of buzz that Bullock might score herself an Oscar nod. She has definitely had a banner year!

  3. December 6, 2009 8:49 am

    I’ve heard nothing but praise for this movie. I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  4. December 6, 2009 8:51 am

    I am thinking about seeing this yet later today. I have heard such good reviews of it and love that it is based on a true story.

  5. December 6, 2009 8:59 am

    I rarely see movies in the theater but this one looks so good to me! I love football!

  6. December 6, 2009 10:13 am

    I plan on going to see this today with my mom. It looks great. I should probably bring tissues.

  7. December 6, 2009 10:21 am

    I have wanted to see this movie for so long but I haven’t been able to make it to the theater since it was released…maybe next weekend. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Thanks for posting the video, I hadn’t seen it before.

  8. December 6, 2009 10:24 am

    What a neat story.

  9. December 6, 2009 11:31 am

    I too loved the movie, and being a sports fan was just a bonus!
    I think Bullock deserves an Emmy nomination at least for this film!

  10. December 6, 2009 11:35 am

    I saw this movie on Friday and I loved it. I think people who didn’t like football would like it, there wasn’t really much football in it, it was more about the family and that stuff.

  11. December 6, 2009 11:41 am

    Marc and I love football movies…this one is on our calendar to see!!

  12. December 6, 2009 12:30 pm

    My other half is crazy about American football, but I somehow get the feeling that this movie is more of movie for me 😉

  13. December 6, 2009 1:10 pm

    I think I’d love this movie too. S. Bullock is a favorite actress of mine.

  14. December 6, 2009 1:24 pm

    My daughter and I are trying to find a time to get to this with my sister and niece. I just know I’m going to need tissues; the commercials make me tear up!

  15. December 6, 2009 1:26 pm

    I want to see this movie and am glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for sharing the You Tube video featuring the “real” people from the story. It was so interesting to see and hear from them. This is the kind of “feel good” movie that I think is perfect to watch around the holidays!

  16. December 6, 2009 2:27 pm

    We went to see this the other day and loved it too. I agree with you on the need for tissues. It was a very inspiring movie but also had lots of funny moments. I’m planning to review it also.

  17. December 6, 2009 2:29 pm

    I wasn’t prepared for this — I wept almost uncontrollably while I watched and listened.

    What an extraordinary family, and what a truly extraordinary young man!

    Kathy, thank you for this video.

  18. December 6, 2009 2:45 pm

    *wiping tears from eyes*…MAN! I’m not a good “real” football watcher but I still love watching the movies around the theme. PLUS it gives me the excuse to make DH watch an inspirational movie with me! lol I don’t know if it’s just because it’s “that time” or what but watching the movie trailer from the Blind Side’s website had me all teary eyed! Thanks for sharing this one. I’m definitely going to have to watch it when I can.

  19. December 6, 2009 3:08 pm

    This movie was recommended to me just last night at a holiday party. Thanks for reinforcing the recommendation with your review. 🙂

  20. December 6, 2009 4:41 pm

    I’m a football fan and can’t wait to see this movie. I’ve also heard the book was amazing. Not sure which I should do first, movie or book? Decisions, decisions 🙂

  21. December 6, 2009 10:43 pm

    I hate football and don’t think I’d enjoy reading books about football but I’ve enjoyed almost all football movies that I’ve watched. Remember the Titans, Rudy come to mind. I can’t wait to watch this one, all of my neighbors loved it.

  22. December 7, 2009 12:06 am

    This is one that I plan to see at home, both because I don’t like watching tearjerkers in public, and because my husband won’t go to see it with me.

  23. December 7, 2009 4:41 am

    I don’t like sports at all but I love sport movies (go figure, huh?). I really want to see this but I’m waiting for the DVD. Oh great find on the video!

  24. December 7, 2009 11:17 am

    My mom is not a big football fan and she recently called me to tell me how great this is and that we should go see it. Maybe when she’s back in town and can watch Daniel we’ll go.

  25. December 7, 2009 12:09 pm

    My husband loves this movie.

  26. December 7, 2009 12:37 pm

    Kathy, glad you liked the movie; I haven’t seen it yet, but it has been getting a lot of good buzz in Baltimore, because Michael Oher is a rookie on the Ravens. You can watch him (and cheer for the Ravens against Green Bay) tonight on Monday Night Football. I’m sure they’ll note the movie.
    I’ve also heard good things about the Michael Lewis book that led to the movie. It goes into more history about the position Oher plays, which is designed to protect the quarterback’s blind side as he prepares to pass. Because the position has such an important role, it’s one of the highest-paid in the NFL.

  27. stacybuckeye permalink
    December 7, 2009 2:07 pm

    I really thought this movie was inspiring. I don’t think you’d have to be afootball fan to like it, but what do I know – I love football! I wondered afterward how Michael felt about it. Great review, Kathy!

  28. December 7, 2009 3:52 pm

    I think this sounds like a great movie, and I even get a little teary at the commercials for it! I am not really a huge football fan, but I don’t think that would hamper my enjoyment of the movie at all and I am looking forward to watching it. I am glad you liked it and that it moved you so much!

  29. December 8, 2009 2:19 am

    Thanks for the recommendation! And if I watch this, I’d be sure to bring along tissues…

  30. December 8, 2009 3:54 am

    It sounds like an amazing story. I’m not sure I could put up with all the football or Sandra Bullock in an inspirational drama. Thanks for the video clip. It’s nice to see that there are people out there that care.

  31. December 8, 2009 5:08 am

    So this the movie that eclipsed New Moon!

    Well, this would be an emotional watch then for sentimental people like me. The thought of someone walking in that weather and in that outfit and someone lending a hand is attractive.

    I think I’d give it a go.

  32. December 8, 2009 9:02 am

    My husband saw this movie and loved it. He’s a football fan, so I think that helped. I’m not much of one, but I plan to see it when it comes out on DVD.

    –Anna

  33. December 8, 2009 6:24 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it Kathy. I wouldn’t mind seeing it one of these days. Sandra Bullock is one of my favorite actresses.

  34. Jo Anne permalink
    December 9, 2009 11:28 am

    Everyone who sees this movie loves it!

    I think its because everyone loves a good underdog story.

    They should make a fictional account of Susan Boyle’s rise to fame. That ould be the best underdog story ever!
    I know tv guide network has the exclusive documentary about her. I just read about it here

    http://www.tvguide.com/special/susan-boyle/

  35. December 10, 2009 2:12 am

    Well I don’t like football, but i have seen scores of movies with that subject and loved them as well.
    So i m sure i will like this as well. And I like Sandra Bullock too.
    I will search for this here!

  36. December 10, 2009 12:39 pm

    I am a huge college football fan. I have this because a bookseller friend (who is also a college football fan) told me when it first came out that it was one of the best football related books she’d read. I’m saving it to read sometime between January and the end of August when I really need a football fix.

    Have you read Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer by Warren St. John? It’s a funny look at tailgaters who follow the Alabama team. That was the last one I targeted for that long dry football-less season.

  37. justicejenniferreads permalink
    December 26, 2009 7:06 pm

    I have heard a lot of great things about this movie and I look forward to seeing it sometime soon. I love Sandra Bullock and I am looking forward to seeing her in this role – it’s different from what I’m used to.

  38. phat permalink
    February 8, 2010 9:55 pm

    I just watched the movie and I like it.. I don’t know much about football..I haven’t even watched a full game. but I’m sure now I would love to learn more about it. Great movie!
    And I love Sandra Bullock.

Leave a comment