Skip to content

Review: Simon’s Cat

January 22, 2010

Simon Tofield is a British animator who is owned by four cats.  He started drawing films about a cat and they became a big hit on YouTube.  It takes a while to draw a film because each second of animation can take up to 25 drawings.  Luckily for fans of his films, Tofield has drawn a book.

Simon’s Cat by Simon Tofield is a cute book that is fun to flip through.  There are no words at all in the book, so you can look through it fairly quickly.  Of course, you’ll want to go back later and study the pictures better.  I thought the book would be one long story, but it’s not – it’s short vignettes about life with a cat.  I enjoyed this book, even though we don’t have a cat.  Some of the cat’s action – wanting to eat all the time and looking for a warm spot, to name a few – did remind me of our dog.  Fans of the YouTube videos like this one will enjoy the book:

I won this book in a contest on She Reads and Reads.   I am an Amazon Associate.
30 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 7:15 am

    Oh, I am rolling on the ground! My white kitty has this “thing” with my chair (the one I am sitting on right now) at the kitchen table. The SECOND I stand up to do something, he is there all stretched out, refusing to budge. Cats offer endless material for something like this.

  2. January 22, 2010 7:20 am

    I’ve been surprised to find out how popular Simon is – especially with cat people. I guess he strikes a familiar chord!

  3. January 22, 2010 7:22 am

    Love that Simon’s Cat! And, I’ve presented you with an award. Hope you stop by to pick it up! Lesa – http://www.lesasbookcritiques.blogspot.com

  4. January 22, 2010 7:23 am

    Loved the video, the book sounds adorable.

  5. January 22, 2010 7:44 am

    Too cute. I had a cat in my working days but I definitely don’t consider myself a cat person! This book looks precious though!

  6. January 22, 2010 7:52 am

    I have seen this a few times lately and it seems to be really popular. I shall definitely look out for it.

  7. January 22, 2010 8:12 am

    My Boots would love to read about Simon’s cat. Boots is a tuxedo with an attitude.:)

  8. January 22, 2010 8:44 am

    LOL!! I love cats and somehow have missed out on Simon. Thanks so much for sharing it. Now I’ll have to look for more on YouTube.

  9. January 22, 2010 8:54 am

    I don’t even have a cat and that video had me chortling. Even as I write this, I’m laughing.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  10. January 22, 2010 10:11 am

    OH! I love Simon’s Cat! The girls and I laugh and laugh together watching the videos. My favorite is the one where the cat wants in, and the kids’ favorite is the one where he’s waking Simon up.

    OMG! I didn’t know there was a book! I have to get it. It would be so wore out here. Thanks for the video, too, I hadn’t seen this one 🙂

    LOL, btw, Mags is still standing fast that she’s never going to do another review. I tried to convince her this morning by giving her a bloggie name. “The Reluctant Reviewer” sounded perfect, I thought. She just firmly answered, “NO.”

  11. January 22, 2010 10:50 am

    Great video find to accompany the review. Hilarious. This is my kind of comic!

  12. January 22, 2010 11:13 am

    This looks hilarious and adorable. If I didn’t know any better, I would say he’d modeled everything on my Hamlet!

  13. January 22, 2010 11:26 am

    This looks like a fun book for cat lovers!

  14. January 22, 2010 11:38 am

    I love Simon’s cat! Too true for words! (for once, I am typing without a cat draped over my arm) Will definitely look for this book as I know several people who will appreciate it. Thanks!

  15. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 22, 2010 11:57 am

    A book with no words? How original 🙂

  16. January 22, 2010 2:04 pm

    I have three cats and I loved watching all the Simon cat videos on You Tube. Thanks for the post. I had my giggles this morning thanks to you.

  17. January 22, 2010 3:01 pm

    I have two cats, so I’m sure I’d love this!

  18. January 22, 2010 3:04 pm

    My family is a big fan of Simon’s Cat. We all sit around and watch the videos every once in a while and crack up. Any cat lover will recognize the antics of even the best of cats. I didn’t know there was a book.

  19. January 22, 2010 4:27 pm

    Oh how fun! I’m a huge fan of the vids, so I’m excited to know there’s a book.

  20. January 22, 2010 5:20 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed the book too!

  21. January 22, 2010 6:23 pm

    Oh my goodness! I’ve never seen Simon’s Cat before. So funny. I ‘m going to put that video on my site, its just too cute! I’ll have to find the book too. Thanks for posting this, made my day.
    Natalie :0)

  22. January 22, 2010 8:22 pm

    I’d love to have a copy. I’ve been keeping an eye on it ever since the hardcover came out. Now that it’s available in paperback, there’s no reason for me not to get it. I’m glad you enjoyed it. =)

  23. January 22, 2010 10:13 pm

    Simon’s Cat is hilarious! I’ve watched the videos before and for some reason hadn’t realized there was an actual book. Too cute, I’m just going to have to find one now! 🙂

  24. January 22, 2010 10:36 pm

    Oh, this looks very cute! 🙂

  25. January 23, 2010 12:37 am

    My daughter would love this. I’m going to see if I can find it for her birthday. Thanks for the tip.

  26. January 23, 2010 5:49 am

    I am not a cat-FAN! But my Hubby sure is.. as u might have guessed, I love DOGS 🙂 BUT the video is so cute 🙂

    Great job done by the animator! i am sure he is a very patient man 🙂

  27. January 24, 2010 12:18 am

    This one cracked me up so much. I have 2 cats and I could see them in more than a few pages. LOL

  28. January 25, 2010 4:22 pm

    My daughter is a huge cat person, and I think she would really love this book. Thanks for the great review, I will be looking for it.

  29. January 28, 2010 1:51 pm

    Looks like a fun book!

    –Anna

  30. January 29, 2010 9:37 am

    I’ve seen the reviews for this book somewhere and it’s cute! I’m a cat person. 😀

Leave a comment