Skip to content

Wondrous Words Wednesday

February 2, 2011

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, write a post and come back and add your link to Mr. Linky!  All of my words this week came from my handy Word-a-Day calendar.

1. subreption– “Shareholders have filed a class action lawsuit against the company for its subreption of earnings and losses.”

Subreption is a noun that means a deliberate misrepresentation; also: an inference drawn from it.

_____________________________________________________

2. impecunious – “Unable to afford his own books, my impecunious uncle usually ends up borrowing mine and failing to return them.”

I think I’d have to stop lending my books to that uncle!  I felt like I should have known this word, but I didn’t.  Impecunious is an adjective that means having very little or no money usually habitually: penniless.

_____________________________________________________

3. crwth– “He intricately rhymes, to the music of crwth and pibgorn, all night long.” – – Dylan Thomas, Under Milk Wood

Crwth is an ancient Celtic stringed instrument that is plucked or bowed.  It can also refer to a swelling or bulging body.    The pronunciation of crwth is \krüth\.

_____________________________________________________

Have you come across any new words lately?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 5:16 am

    Happily you explain how to say “Crwth “!
    I just send my article. Five words these week : le pian (yaws), rouir (to ret) nycthémère (nychtemeron) . For two of them I don’t found any translation : lévirat et séton.
    Have a good week !

  2. Scribacchina permalink
    February 2, 2011 5:59 am

    Crwth looked like it was unpronounceable – until I read it’s Celtic. I looked up pictures of it. Interesting 🙂

    @ Annie: I think lévirat is levirate. I wouldn’t know about séton 😦

  3. February 2, 2011 7:12 am

    Interesting words this week again Kathy. It’s funny how some words are better known in some forms- pecuniary is more familiar to me than impecunious, however they’re clearly related. I’ve not heard of crwth before- but how good would that be in scrabble? I never have any vowels!

  4. February 2, 2011 8:56 am

    I haven’t heard impecunious in ages, but the other two are totally new to me! Thanks for sharing them. Your vocabulary must be incredible!

  5. February 2, 2011 9:01 am

    I love the spelling of those celtic words! Always a challenge! :–)

  6. February 2, 2011 9:48 am

    Kathy, the last word looks like a misspelling! Excellent words this week. 🙂

  7. February 2, 2011 10:19 am

    I really like my word-a-day calendar too. Us “wordies” can’t get too many. (That may be a new word too.)

  8. February 2, 2011 10:55 am

    I have to get a word-a-day calendar, I really do. These are all new to me and you’ve got to love those Celts and ability to ignore vowels all together.

  9. February 2, 2011 11:22 am

    Wohoo I knew one again, and again I thank my love for all things Celtic 🙂

  10. February 2, 2011 11:53 am

    All new ones to me.

  11. February 2, 2011 1:40 pm

    I came across many while reading An Object of Beauty. I kept having to use my dictionary. No I wish I had made myself write them down and use them in a sentence! 🙂

  12. February 2, 2011 2:53 pm

    Good ones. I kind of knew the second one but wouldn’t have been able to define it.

  13. Beth Hoffman permalink
    February 2, 2011 2:57 pm

    I’m embarrassed to admit that I only knew impecunious!

    Great words, Kathy.

  14. February 2, 2011 3:19 pm

    I do not seem to come across many new words lately…hmmm…now I really need to read out of my comfort zone…I loved your last word…how cool is a word without vowels…I did not even think that was legal!!!

  15. February 2, 2011 4:07 pm

    Great words…I would use them but I’m afraid I’d have a hard time pronouncing them right!! 😀

  16. February 2, 2011 5:25 pm

    Celtic words are never pronounced how I’d think they would be, but to my mind it makes them that much more fascinating.

  17. February 2, 2011 5:41 pm

    I love that you have a word with no vowels! These are all new words to me. I think I can make use of impecunious.

  18. February 2, 2011 6:32 pm

    I’ve heard “impecunious” before. Unfortunately, I also suffered from that condition a lot, over the years! The other two were new to me. I love “crwth” – thanks for including the pronunciation guide.

  19. February 2, 2011 9:49 pm

    Oooh, “supreption” and “crwth” (thank you for the pronunciation). Two words added to the vocabulary. Thank you, Kathy!

  20. February 3, 2011 4:29 am

    I am so glad you told us the pronunciation for that last one – I just never know what to do when vowels go missing! 😉

  21. February 3, 2011 2:23 pm

    I think I’d need a definition for pibgorn as well! During the first two chapters in Ulysses I started jotting down some of the unfamiliar words, but gave up. 😉 Too many!

  22. February 3, 2011 3:11 pm

    All of these are new to me!

  23. February 3, 2011 7:15 pm

    crwth….

    may I buy a vowel please… consonants and need to buy a vowel 🙂

  24. February 3, 2011 7:46 pm

    I’m intrigued by Dylan Thomas’ poetry, and now this new word. These are some of my favorite posts, Bermuda Onion. I always learn something new.

  25. kaye permalink
    February 4, 2011 4:31 pm

    I’m always at a loss for pronouncing words with no vowels. Timely post as I just got a check from class action lawsuit. Great words this week!

  26. February 9, 2011 6:09 pm

    I love the 2nd word. I may need help pronouncing properly though 😉

Leave a comment